Are Your Representatives Supporting Religious Freedom?

Protect Religious Freedom Signv(FB 403-403)The Texas Religious Freedom Amendment (HJR 110/SJR 4) would provide clear and specific protection in our state constitution for religious freedom. A state religious freedom constitutional amendment provides the best guarantee of lasting protection for citizens’ religious liberties from an overreaching legislature, government bureaucracy, or activist court.

The amendment is supported by leading pro-family, pro-life, and pro-liberty organizations across Texas and is also supported by leading constitutional and religious liberty scholars from across the country, including Liberty Institute President and CEO Kelly Shackelford.

In an effort to better inform Texans on where their State Senator and State Representative stand on our first freedom – religious freedom – we will be keeping a running list of the authors and co-authors of the Texas Religious Freedom Amendment below (HJR 110 and SJR 4). Currently HJR 110 is in the House State Affairs Committee (Chairman Byron Cook, R – Corsicana), and SJR 4 is in the Senate State Affairs Committee (Chairman Robert Duncan, R – Lubbock). Neither has been brought up for a committee vote.

If your elected officials have not signed on in support of the Texas Religious Freedom Amendment, please encourage your State Senator and State Representative to coauthor the amendment.

Find your elected officials here.

Senate Authors:

Senator Donna Campbell (R – New Braunfels), District 25

Senator Ken Paxton (R – McKinney), District 8

House Authors:

Representative Jason Isaac (R – Dripping Springs), District 45

Representative Linda Harper-Brown (R – Irving), District 105

Representative Allen Fletcher (R – Cypress), District 130

Representative William A. “Bill” Callegari (R – Houston), District 132

Representative Craig Eiland (D – Galveston), District 23.

House Co-Authors:

Representative Charles “Doc” Anderson (R – Waco), District 56

Representative Trent Ashby (R – Lufkin), District 57

Representative Cecil Bell (R – Magnolia), District 3

Representative Greg Bonnen (R – Friendswood), District 24

Representative Cindy Burkett (R – Sunnyvale), District 113

Representative Giovanni Capriglione (R – Southlake), District 98

Representative Travis Clardy (R – Nacogdoches), District 11

Representative John Davis (R – Houston), District 129

Representative Pat Fallon (R – Frisco), District 106

Representative Marsha Farney (R – Georgetown), District 20

Representative Dan Flynn (R – Canton), District 2

Representative James Frank (R – Wichita Falls), District 69

Representative John Frullo (R – Lubbock), District 84

Representative Craig Goldman (R – Fort Worth), District 97

Representative Lance Gooden (R – Terrell), District 4

Representative Bryan Hughes (R – Mineola), District 5

Representative Kyle Kacal (R – College Station), District 12

Representative Phil King (R – Weatherford), District 61

Representative Stephanie Klick (R – Fort Worth), District 91

Representative Lois Kolkhorst (R – Brenham), District 13

Representative Matt Krause (R – Fort Worth), District 93

Representative Lyle Larson (R – San Antonio), District 122

Representative Jodie Laubenberg (R – Parker), District 89

Representative George Lavender (R – Texarkana), District 1

Representative Jeff Leach (R – Plano), District 67

Representative Rick Miller (R – Sugar Land), District 26

Representative John Otto (R – Dayton), District 18

Representative Christopher “Chris” Paddie (R – Marshall), District 9

Representative Tan Parker (R – Flower Mound), District 63

Representative Charles Perry (R – Lubbock), District 83

Representative Larry Phillips (R – Sherman), District 62

Representative Walter T. “Four” Price (R – Amarillo), District 87

Representative Debbie Riddle (R – Tomball), District 150

Representative Scott Sanford (R – McKinney), District 70

Representative Matt Schaefer (R – Tyler), District 6

Representative Kenneth Sheets (R – Dallas), District 107

Representative Ron Simmons (R – Carrollton), District 65

Representative Drew Springer (R – Muenster), District 68

Representative Jonathan Stickland (R – Bedford), District 92

Representative Van Taylor (R – Plano), District 66

Representative Ed Thompson (R – Pearland), District 29

Representative Steve Toth (R – The Woodlands), District 15

Representative Scott Turner (R – Frisco), District 33

Representative James White (R – Woodville), District 19

Representative Bill Zedler (R – Arlington), District 96


*Visit the legislature’s website for HJR 110 and SJR 4 for the most up to date status.

Share this:
Back to blog