Official Vote on Texas Speaker of the House Today

2:00 p.m. Gov. Perry address,names emergency items in addition to balanced budget-eminent domain protection and elimination of “sanctuary city” policies.

1:12 p.m. Berman objects to Straus vote by acclamation, asks for record vote.  Record vote coming. 132-15, Straus prevails.

Voting against Straus: Leo Berman, Cindy Burkett, Erwin Cain, Wayne Christian, Dan Flynn, Phil King, Jim Landtroop, Jodie Laubenberg, Charles Perry, Ken Paxton, Tan Parker, David Simpson,Van Taylor, James White, Bill Zedler

Bryan Hughes and Jason Isaac “voted present not voting.”

12:37 p.m. Rep. Paxton requested a personal privilege speech. Explains he will not have his name as a nominee for Speaker. Rep. Eissler nominates Straus. Nominations over. Rep. Eissler “we can’t always get what we want, but under Straus we will always get what we need.”

Democratic Rep. Senfronia Thompson giving speech supporting Straus.

Republican Rep. Drew Darby gives second/supportive speech in favor of Straus.
“No one should question the commitment to family values of Joe

Democrat Rep. Pete Gallego speaks in favor of Straus.

12:34 p.m. Speaker election coming.

12:10 p.m. Opening session has begun. Chisum announced earlier today that he is now supporting Straus, as he pledged to support the outcome of the Republican caucus vote.

Secretary of State Hope Andrade delivering opening remarks “there is no other state that I would rather be in than Texas.”

I will post live updates from inside the Capitol.

Share this:
Back to blog