

May 17, 2010

The Honorable Gail Lowe Chairman, State Board of Education 11 Chris Avenue Lampasas, TX 76550

Dear Chairman Lowe:

We would like to share with you our support for the standards approved by the State Board of Education in March 2010 for the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) for Social Studies.

We would also like to confirm our support for final adoption of the TEKS for Social Studies at the conclusion of your State Board of Education meetings in May 2010. While no such document can ever be perfect, we believe the final work product is a strong step in the right direction and will give students a fuller understanding of the roots of American history.

As state legislators, we fully understand the direct relationship between the TEKS and what is ultimately taught to public school students in classrooms across this state.

We understand that some are seeking to obstruct the normal time table of the curriculum standards review process. We categorically reject such efforts. Our Texas students deserve better.

We thank you for your work, and we greatly value your service to the State of Texas.

Sincerely,

State Representative Wayne Christian

House District 9 - Center

State Representative Ken Paxton

House District 70 - McKinney

State Representative Leo Berman

House District 6 - Tyler

State Representative Warren Chisum

House District 88 - Pampa

State Representative Brandon Creighton

House District 16 - Conroe

State Representative Dan Flynn

House District 2 - Van

State Representative Bryan Hughes House District 5 - Mineola

State Representative Phil King House District 61 - Weatherford

Jodie Laubenberg State Representative Jodie Laubenberg House District 89 - Parker

Deanie Dr. 4

State Representative Geanie Morrison House District 30 - Victoria

State Representative Tan Parker House District 63 - Flower Mound

State Representative Larry Taylor House District 24 - Friendswood

State Representative Charles "Doc" Anderson House District 56 - Waco

State Representative Betty Brown House District 4 - Terrell

State Representative Fred Brown House District 14 - College Station Kallegoni

State Representative Bill Callegari

House District 132 - Katy

State Representative Byron Cook House District 8 - Corsicana

State Representative Frank Corte House District 122 - San Antonio

State Representative John Davis House District 129 - Houston

State Representative Joe Driver House District 113 - Garland

State Representative Rob Eissler House District 15 - The Woodlands

State Representative Gary Elkins House District 135 - Houston

State Representative Allen Fletcher House District 130 - Tomball

State Representative Kelly Hancock House District 91 - North Richland Hills Charlie Howard

State Representative Charlie Howard House District 26 - Sugar Land

State Representative Jim Jackson House District 115 - Carrollton

lin kecho

State Representative Ken Legler House District 144 - Pasadena

State Representative Jerry Madden House District 67 - Richardson

len A N/allen

State Representative Sid Miller House District 59 - Stephenville

State Representative John Otto
House District 18 - Dayton

State Senator Dan Patrick
Senate District 7 - Houston

State Representative Debbie Riddle House District 150 - Tomball State Representative Ralph Sheffield House District 55 - Temple

State Representative Mark Shelton, M.D.

House District 97 - Fort Worth

State Representative John Smithee House District 86 - Amarillo

bly Title.

State Representative David Swinford House District 87 - Dumas

State Representative Vicki Truitt

House District 98 - Keller

State Representative Randy Weber House District 29 - Pearland

State Representative John Zerwas, M.D.

House District 28 - Richmond

Cc:

The Honorable Lawrence A. Allen, Jr, Vice Chair

The Honorable Terri Leo, Secretary

The Honorable Barbara Cargill

The Honorable Ken Mercer

The Honorable Geraldine Miller

The Honorable David Bradley

The Honorable Rick Agosto

The Honorable Cynthia Noland Dunbar

The Honorable Rene Nunez

The Honorable Bob Craig

The Honorable Mavis B. Knight

The Honorable Mary Helen Berlanga

The Honorable Patricia Hardy

The Honorable Don McLeroy