Mesquite Council Looks to Start Bathroom War, Meeting Tonight

Jun 6, 2016

Mesquite city hall transgender sign (620-280)Today, at 5:30 PM the Mesquite City Council will meet to discuss a dangerous new ordinance that threatens the privacy and safety of its citizens by opening up women’s bathrooms, showers, and locker rooms to men on city property, such as City Hall, libraries, city swimming pools and recreation centers. Item #21 on the council’s agenda will create new protected classifications based on ‘sexual orientation’ and ‘gender identity’, which are not in accordance with Texas law. The new ordinance states that employees may not be discriminated against on the basis of “…sexual orientation and gender identity…” The ordinance also states that the “policy extends to all terms, conditions, and privileges of employment including, without limitation, fringe benefits…classification…and all other aspects of employment,” which includes the use of restrooms, showers, and locker rooms on all city properties that are also used by the general public.

The City misunderstands, incorrectly relies upon and inaccurately states both Windsor and Obergefell U.S. Supreme Court decisions on same-sex ‘marriage.’ These decisions do not require what this proposal states. Further, Federal law does not require what this proposal inaccurately states. The City of Houston, Fort Worth I.S.D. and the Obama Administration have recently started public fights over trying to add the words “gender identity” and other related words to create new classifications in law that don’t currently exist at the Federal level or in Texas.

This dangerous ordinance forces every woman and girl in the City of Mesquite to be put in an uncomfortable and dangerous situation every time they use the restroom, shower, or locker room on city property. Just like the City of Houston, and Fort Worth I.S.D., the City of Mesquite is pushing their own irresponsible agenda which is not in line with state law, nor is it in the best interest of their citizens. Please urge the Mesquite City Council to reject the proposal, CONSENT AGENDA ITEM #21, immediately.

Please TAKE ACTION immediately:

  1. If you live in Mesquite area, please attend the Mesquite City Council meeting TONIGHT, June 6, 2016, at 5:30 p.m. to be held at City Hall in the Council Chamber at 757 N. Galloway in Mesquite (map here). Please plan on arriving early if you would like to sign up to speak before the council on this issue. We need to pack this meeting! Our President and Attorney, Jonathan Saenz, will be attending the meeting and planning to testify.
  2. Email and call each member of the Mesquite City Council and Mayor and respectfully express your concerns. Even if you don’t live in Mesquite, polices like this set a dangerous precedent for the rest of the state and they need to hear from you!

    Stan Pickett, Mayor: 972-216-6400, 972-800-6296 ; spickett@cityofmesquite.com
    Bill Porter, Place 1: 972-882-5487 ; bporter@cityofmesquite.com
    Jeff Casper, Place 2: 214-577-2018 ; jcasper@cityofmesquite.com
    Bruce Archer, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem, Place 3: 972-834-7099 ; barcher@cityofmesquite.com
    Dan Aleman, Place 4: 972-754-6204 ; daleman@cityofmesquite.com
    Greg Noschese, Mayor Pro Tem, Place 5: 214-616-8538 ; gnoschese@cityofmesquite.com
    Dennis Tarpley, Place 6: 972-613-1002 ; dtarpley@cityofmesquite.com

  3. Please forward this information to your family and friends in Mesquite.
Share this: