CSCOPE Hearing in Texas House

Apr 30, 2013

BAN-CSCOPE

Update: CSCOPE Bill, SB 1406 – putting CSCOPE under oversight of the elected State Board of Education, was voted out of the House Public Education Committee last night by a vote of 6-3.

This afternoon, the Texas House Committee on Public Education will have an important hearing on CSCOPE legislation (SB 1406 by Senator Dan Patrick, which has already passed the Texas Senate). The bill would bring oversight to CSCOPE by bringing the CSCOPE curriculum under the oversight of the elected State Board of Education. CSCOPE is a K-12 online educational curriculum that is used in 80 percent of school districts in Texas.

The curriculum has been exposed as an attempt to circumvent oversight and accountability and to indoctrinate Texas children with radical progressive views. Just a few shocking examples of the curriculum include:

  • A downplaying of Christianity
  • Promoting Islam
  • Calling the Boston Tea Party a terrorist attack
  • Promoting Communism by encouraging students to make a flag for a new communist nation.

Texas Values will be testifying in support of this important legislation.

Take Action: Please contact the House Public Education Committee and encourage them to quickly pass the bill out of committee.

Texas House Committee on Public Education

Chair, Rep. Jimmy Don Aycock (R)
Phone: 512-463-0684 | Email: jimmie.aycock@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Alma Allen (D)
Phone: 512-463-0744
Alma.Allen@house.state.tx.us
Rep. John Davis (R)
Phone: 512-463-0734
john.davis@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Joe Deshotel (D)
512-463-0662
joe.deshotel@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Harold Dutton (D)
512-463-0510
harold.dutton@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Marsha Farney (R)
512-463-0309
Marsha.Farney@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Dan Huberty (R)
512-463-0520
dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Ken King (R)
512-463-0736
Ken.King@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Bennett Ratliff (R)
512-463-0468
Bennett.Ratliff@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Justin Rodriguez (D)
512-463-0669
Justin.Rodriguez@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Mike Villarreal (D)
512-463-0532
mike.villarreal@house.state.tx.us
Share this: