Religious Freedom Amendment in Senate Committee

Apr 13, 2013

Protect Religious Freedom Signv(FB 403-403)The Senate version of the Texas Religious Freedom Amendment, SJR 4 by Senator Campbell, has been scheduled for a committee hearing on Monday, April 15 in the Senate Committee on State Affairs. The hearing is scheduled to start at 9:00 a.m. in the Senate Chamber. We need as many people as possible to attend this critically important hearing and to register in favor of SJR 4. If you are able to attend, or are interested in attending, please email us at info@txvalues.org.

The Texas Religious Freedom Amendment would provide clear and specific protection in our state constitution for religious freedom. A state religious freedom constitutional amendment provides the best guarantee of lasting protection for citizens’ religious liberties from an overreaching legislature, government bureaucracy, or activist court.

The amendment is supported by leading constitutional and religious liberty scholars, including Liberty Institute President and CEO Kelly Shackelford.

Take a stand for religious freedom in Texas – please contact the Senate State Affairs Committee members and express your support for the Texas Religious Freedom Amendment. Also, if you have not already, please contact your State Senator and State Representative and encourage them to coauthor the amendment.

Take Action: Contact the Texas Senate Committee on State Affairs

Chair, Sen. Robert Duncan (R), 512-463-0128, robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us

Vice-Chair, Sen. Bob Deuell (R), 512-463-0102, bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Rodney Ellis (D), 512-463-0113, rodney.ellis@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Troy Fraser (R), 512-463-0124, troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Joan Huffman (R), 512-463-0117, joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. (D), 512-463-0127, eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Robert Nichols (R), 512-463-0103, robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Leticia Van de Putte (D), 512-463-0126, leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Tommy Williams (R), 512-463-0104, tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us

Share this: