Texas Religious Freedom Amendment in Committee Today – Take Action

Apr 3, 2013

Update: The Texas Religious Freedom Amendment, HJR 110, was heard in the House State Affairs Committee yesterday and has been left pending. It is very important to continue to contact the committee and express your support (see contact information below). Please also contact your own State Representative and Senator and encourage them to coauthor the amendment.

Original Post:

The Texas Religious Freedom Amendment, HJR 110, is scheduled for a committee hearing today in the Texas House Committee on State Affairs. The committee will meet this afternoon at 1:30 p.m or upon adjournment. Please contact the State Affairs Committee members and express your support for the Texas Religious Freedom Amendment.

Religious liberty is one of our most foundational freedoms, but today this God-given right to freely exercise religious faith is under increasing attack by government at all levels. The Texas Religious Freedom Amendment would provide clear and specific protection in our state constitution for religious freedom. A state religious freedom constitutional amendment provides the best guarantee of lasting protection for citizens’ religious liberties from an overreaching legislature, government bureaucracy, or the courts.

The amendment is supported by leading constitutional and religious liberty scholars, including Liberty Institute President and CEO Kelly Shackelford.

Take a stand for religious freedom in Texas – please contact the House State Affairs Committee members and express your support for the Texas Religious Freedom Amendment. Also, if you have not already, please contact your State Senator and State Representative and encourage them to coauthor the amendment.

Take Action: Contact the Texas House Committee on State Affairs

Chair, Rep. Byron Cook (R), 512-463-0730, byron.cook@house.state.tx.us

Vice-Chair, Rep. Helen Giddings (D), 512-463-0953, helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Harvey Hilderbran (R), 512-463-0536, harvey.hilderbran@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Rene Oliveira (D), 512-463-0640, rene.oliveira@house.state.tx.us

Rep. John Smithee (R), 512-463-0702, john.smithee@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Sylvester Turner (D), 512-463-0554, sylvester.turner@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Tom Craddick (R), 512-463-0500, tom.craddick@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Jessica Farrar (D), 512-463-0620, jessica.farrar@house.state.tx.us

Rep. John Frullo (R), 512-463-0676, john.frullo@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Charlie Geren (R), 512-463-0610, charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Patricia Harless (R), 512-463-0496, patricia.harless@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Dan Huberty (R), 512-463-0520, dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Jose Menendez (D), 512-463-0634, jose.menendez@house.state.tx.us

Share this: